Sources of Ganges Trek

Sources of Ganges Trek

Region: Garhwal Himalayas
Duration: 10 Nights 11 Days
Destination covered: Delhi – Rishikesh – Uttarkashi – Gangotri – Bhojbasa – Gaumukh – Chamba — Haridwar – Delhi
Altitude: 3990 m above sea level
Grade: Easy Trek
Best Time: April to November

The Ganges is considered the most sacred river in India. The legend is that the Goddess Ganga descended on Earth from heaven at Gangotri and so the Gangotri is considered as Source of Ganges. There is a temple at Gangotri dedicated to Mother Ganges. The actual source of The Ganges likes 19 km from Gangotri at Gaumukh. The trek follows the river upstream to the actual source at Gaumukh. The tour starts from the holy city of Rishikesh, known as ‘Gateway to Himalayas’. This exiting trek offers fantastic view of beautiful mountains like Shivling (6543 m), Meru and Bhagirathi group of mountains

Day by Day Itinerary

Day 01: Arrive-Delhi
Met on arrival at Delhi international airport and transfer to hotel for overnight stay.

Day 02: Delhi – Rishikesh
Drive to Rishikesh (225 km) via Haridwar. Rishikesh is known as ‘Gateway to Himalayas’ and center of Yoga & Meditation. In the afternoon visit various Ashrams and Temples. Enjoy the ‘Ganga Aarti’ in the evening. Overnight stay in hotel.

Day 03: Rishikesh – Uttarkashi
In the morning drive (182 km) to Uttarkashi (1150 m). Uttarkashi is the base of many trekking and mountaineering expeditions in Gangotri valley. Also India’s premier Mountaineering institute ‘Nehru Mountaineering Institute’ is situated at Uttarkashi. In the afternoon proceed for sightseeing tour of Uttarkashi. Overnight stay at Hotel.

Day 04: Uttarkashi – Gangotri
In the morning drive (100 km) to Gangotri (3048 m). Gangotri is the place where the Goddess Ganga descended on earth from heaven. It’s also the road head for the trekking in Gangotri valley. Visit the temple of Goddess Ganga. Overnight stay in tourist lodge.

Day 05: Gangotri – Bhojbasa
Trek 14 km to Bhojbasa (3658 m) following the river Bhagirathi on right bank. The trek is gradual ascent for most of the part. From Bhojbasa you can have majestic view of Bhagirathi group of peaks. On arrival set-up camp for overnight stay.

Day 06: Bhojbasa – Gaumukh – Tapovan
Trek to Tapovan (4400 m) via Gaumukh – the source of river Ganges. From Gaumukh climb over to Gangotri glacier and cross it from right to left bank before climbing over to lateral morain to reach Tapovan. Tapovan is large high altitude meadow and base camp for climbing Mt Shivling and Mt Meru. Overnight stay in tented camp.

Day 07: Tapovan – Bhojbasa – Chirbasa
Return trek to Chirbasa via Bhojbasa. Chirbasa is a beautiful camping place surrounded by Chir (pine) forest. On arrival, set-up camp for overnight stay.

Day 08: Chirbasa -Gangotri – Uttarkashi
Trek back 9 km to Gangotri. On arrival drive (100 km) to Uttarkashi and check-into resort for overnight stay.

Day 09: Uttarkashi – Rishikesh
Return drive to Rishikesh. Afternoon at leisure. Overnight stay in hotel.

Day 10: Rishikesh – Delhi
Drive to Delhi. En route stop at Haridwar to visit Har-ki-Pauri ghat and temples. On arrival check-into hotel for overnight stay.

Day 11: Depart – Delhi
Day at leisure. Optional sightseeing tour of Delhi. Later transfer to international airport to board flight to onward destination.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *